Young Researchers’ and Education Committee

Missions and Objectives

The Young Researchers’ and Education Committee (YREC) has four major aims:

  1. To encourage the professional development of young researchers
  2. To promote their participation in the scientific community and their visibility
  3. To channel their own initiatives
  4. To organize activities devoted to them, useful for their training and their future as independent scientists.

In its Education mission, the YREC channels all the information relative to Education in Neuroscience that can be useful for both teachers and students. The Committee encourages the participation of all SENC members in these goals, providing information, orientation, offering common activities, and actively collaborating in their development.


To drive the Mentor Programme for young SENC researchers, coordinating and organizing both on-site activities (e.g. in the Biannual SENC Meetings) and on-line get-together events.

To coordinate and select the recipients of the Award for Young Scientist and organize the “Award Symposium” at the Biannual SENC Meetings.


To coordinate and select the recipients of the Excellent Student Rita Levi Montalcini Award  devoted to Predoctoral Researchers, and organize the “Rita Levi Montalcini Symposium” at the Biannual SENC Meetings.

To evaluate and select the recipients of Travel Grants (for SENC in Spain, FENS in Europe and SFN in the USA, among others).
To broadcast activities, conferences, awards, grants, employment offers, etc., which might be of interest to young SENC members, which can be followed on Twitter: @JovInvest_SENC.
To inform, orient and advise about opportunities for Education in Neuroscience:

Contact Committee of Young Researchers (CJI)

For issues related to the Mentoring Program:

For issues related to the Broadcasting and Education Counseling, or general inquiries to the committee:

Current Young Researchers Committee (YRC) 

Lola Ganfornina

Head – Member of SENC board
Education Counseling Team
Professor, Medical School
Instituto de Biología y Genética Molecular
University of Valladolid


Soraya Martín Suárez

Postdoctoral Researcher
Mentoring Team
Biocruces Bizkaia Health Research Institute

Irene Serra Hueto

Predoctoral Researcher
Mentoring Team
Cajal Institute, CSIC.

Manuel Sánchez-Malmierca

Professor, Medical School
Education Counseling Team
Instituto de Neurociencias de Castilla y León
University of Salamanca


Sara Mederos

Postdoctoral Researcher
Mentoring Team
Sainsbury Wellcome Centre for Neural Circuits and Behaviour
University College London

Sergio Valbuena

Laboratory of Pico Caroni
Friedrich Miescher Institute for Biomedical Research
Basilea, Suiza


Juan Antonio Moreno Bravo

Olympus Award 2021
Mentoring Team
Researcher Ramón y Cajal Program
Instituto de Neurociencias de Alicante
CSIC- U. Miguel Hernández

Paula Rodríguez

PreDoc estudent. Veterinary University.
University of Santiago de Compostela, Lugo

Be a member here

Contribute to the progress of neuroscience!

Collaborate with society

Do you want to publish your news or events in our schedule?